This topic contains 2 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  Michael Verret 4 years, 4 months ago.

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author

Michael Verret

I am a software engineer that is intensely interested in getting humans into space and onto other worlds. However, when I attended the NewSpace 2012 conference in California, which was an awesome and inspiring weekend by the way, everyone just talked about rockets. There was no mention of software…and only a couple of the booths actually had software on display. Rockets and space stations are obviously cool…but they don’t do much without software. How is the industry reaching out to developers?

I understand the pool of money for space companies is relatively small so finding a formal job in software engineering might be out of the question. But, software engineers like to write software whether that be on the clock or not. Especially as a developer advances in their career and actual coding responsibilities are replaced with management responsibilities. Combine that desire to code with an ability to contribute to such an immensely noble goal as human space exploration and you’ll have a pretty dedicated and capable group of developers champing at the bit to contribute.

I know that NASA has put several of their software projects out into the open source domain on various code repositories but it is not a very welcoming environment. My experience with it so far has been…well…here’s our code…good luck. Where is the introduction? Where are the demos and documentation to really show what these projects are and what NASA wants them to become? Where is the hit list of most wanted bugs/features? Where is the development environment definition? Open sourcing your code to get help from the community is great but you need to help developers get acclimated to the project and environment if you expect them to contribute.